Work in Progress…

Acrylics and ink – large canvas (48 x 36)

I painted the canvas some time ago.  I have a tendency to splash a canvas with paint, hang it on the wall, and let it stay until I’m ready to paint on it again.

I had inked in a thistle plant a while back, and recently started the work of adding color.

Well, I have utilized a lot of red while decorating our house.

A lot.

All throughout.

So I decided I needed to add some gold, just to balance out all the red.

I painted the thistle blossom gold.

Believe me, it was ugly.

So I took it down, drew a giant poppy over the thistle, went as fast as I could to the paint store, bought a new tube of red, and painted it this glorious crimson.

LOVE it.

I’m throwing all caution to the wind and going with all the red.  Don’t judge me.

And really, look at how beautiful it is!

Because the piece is so big, it really catches your eye when you walk in the room.

I have never been a tortured artist.  I find such happiness in painting, and I always think everything I do is absolutely gorgeous – it’s so much more fun that way!

(I’ll post the finished flower soon.)

3 thoughts on “Work in Progress…

  1. THE BACKGROUND IS MYSTICAL IN NATURE. THE POPPY,WELL JUST MAGNIFICENT,BOLD AND ALIVE. NATURE CELEBRATES BOLDNESS OF COLOR AND CONTRAST. WE LIVE IN A SOCIETY OF NORTHERN EUROPEAN HERITAGE,A LAND OF EARTHEN HUSHED SHADES. THIS PIECE BREAKS FREE OF THOSE NOTIONS OF CONSTRAINT. THIS IS LIVING ART,WHERE THE COLORS THEMSELVES PLAY A KEY ROLL ALONG WITH THE ARTIST. JUST BRILLIANT !

Leave a Reply

